Location:Home > OTHERS > A Week In Pittsburgh, PA, On A $46,250 Salary(2)

A Week In Pittsburgh, PA, On A $46,250 Salary(2)

Time:2019-01-09 11:33wine - Red wine life health Click:

week Pittsburgh salary

12:10 p.m. — I get a Facebook notification that a band A. and I want to see is touring. I decide to surprise him. The tickets are $20 each, but of course I get slapped with those additional fees. Looks like we’re going to Buffalo for Valentine’s Day weekend! $56.35

12:45 p.m. — I heat up my leftover Indian food and my boss calls right before I take my first bite. Sigh.

5:45 p.m. — Home time. I usually like to chill and have downtime on Fridays rather than go out, which also keeps more money in my pocket, too. A. and I hit the liquor store: I buy a Malbec Bota Box, A. gets whiskey and vermouth to make us Manhattans. Yum! $21.39

6:15 p.m. — We have our Manhattans and chat, and then eat the last of the pasta fagioli when we’re hungry. We finish the last episode of The First and fall asleep before 10.

Daily Total: $77.74

Day Three

4:35 a.m. — Saturday morning starts off with our cat knocking a glass of water off the bedside table. She knows A. is mad at her and sulks off for the rest of her witching hour instead of crying incessantly.

9:30 a.m. — Sleep in a bit after the cat fuss this morning. We start the day slow: drink tea, shower, then talk about our meal planning for next week before we go to the grocery store. We’re going to a brewery this afternoon for a friend’s birthday and I plan to bake cupcakes instead of buying a gift. For breakfast, we fry an egg and some onions and top it off with the last of some rice and lentils we cooked this week. I am satisfied. (We ate every bite of all the food we prepped this week! Gold star!)

10:30 a.m. — We hit the grocery store. During our morning planning, we noticed we have four or five open packages of corn tortillas in the fridge, so we make a meal plan to eat those up this week. We’re also going to prep ground turkey chili and salsa chicken, so we buy ingredients for those (plus a few other things): chicken thighs on special; red, black, and white beans; snacking fruit; some squash and zucchini, red and green peppers, diced tomatoes, sweet potatoes, mushrooms, chicken stock, ginger, olive oil, garlic, fresh herbs; and cat food. I buy the cupcake ingredients as well. Total comes to $82, and we split. $41

3 p.m. — We relax and do our own thing until it’s time to go out. I bake the cupcakes, do some other chores around the house, and listen to the A Funny Feeling podcast while A. works on some music. He’s involved in a lot of musical projects in the area, so it’s always great to hear what he’s working on. We have a quick bite of lunch before leaving the house. We finish the last of the pasta — finally! We also get coffee to-go at a coffee shop before getting in the car. I treat. $5.14

3:30 p.m. — Since we have to travel to another side of town for this outing, we decide to visit the Strip District on the way there, where there are a lot of speciality grocers. It’s a big tourist destination so it’s usually packed, but the weather is bad and it’s late in the day, so this is a good opportunity. We decide to add a mushroom cream pasta as a late birthday treat for A. and shrimp gumbo to our meals this week, as well as a few other specialty things we are running low on. We visit Penn Mac to buy fresh pasta and bread, Wholey’s for the shrimp (and we’re delighted to find they have massive collard greens, too), Lotus for okra, and Reyna’s for Jamaican curry powder, tamales, and salsa. We trade off paying, so I buy the groceries at Reyna’s and Lotus. $21.75

4:45 p.m. — We get to the brewery! Most folks are there already, but I really only know the birthday girl, so we situate ourselves near her. The cupcakes get descended on pretty fast. It’s a cool place, but the warehouse environment doesn’t absorb noise, so it’s hard to hear everyone. The birthday girl and her husband order pizza for the group, and I have a few slices. A. and I have a beer each and he covers our tab. On the way home, I log into my banking app and send her husband what I hope is a fair share for the pizza. They didn’t ask anyone for money, but I know it’s a lot to feed eight people and I want to contribute. $25

7 p.m. — We get home in time to watch the Pitt football game. My attention span isn’t great for sports, so we share a few glasses of wine and I putter around the kitchen during the game. I have a pie crust in the fridge and decide to bake a pumpkin pie for tomorrow. I never get it quite right, and I feel like this kind of pie is always better made a day ahead.

10:30 p.m. — Bedtime!

Daily Total: $92.89

Day Four

8 a.m. — I wake up and take a shower. A. is already up and in the kitchen. When I come out, he’s made an amazing breakfast casserole with some of our many tortillas. Genius! We tuck in and chat. He’s off to the studio today to record one of his music projects and is pretty excited.

Copyright infringement? Click Here!