Location:Home > OTHERS > A Week In Pittsburgh, PA, On A $46,250 Salary

A Week In Pittsburgh, PA, On A $46,250 Salary

Time:2019-01-09 11:33wine - Red wine life health Click:

week Pittsburgh salary

HomeLifestyleNaukri & PaisaA Week In Pittsburgh, PA, On A $46,250 Salary A Week In Pittsburgh, PA, On A $46,250 Salary

December 26, 2018 Refinery29 Naukri & Paisa

A Week In Pittsburgh, PA, On A $46,250 Salary

A Week In Pittsburgh, PA, On A $46,250 Salary

Welcome toMoney Diaries , where we’re tackling what might be the last taboo facing modern working women: money. We’re asking millennials how they spend their hard-earned money during a seven-day period — and we’re tracking every last dollar.

Today: a sales coordinator working in consumer goods who makes $46,250 per year and spends some of her money this week on the book What If This Were Enough? by Heather Havrilesky.

Occupation: Sales Coordinator
Industry: Consumer Goods
Age: 27
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Salary: $46,250
Paycheck Amount (2x/month): $1,308.05

Monthly Expenses
Rent: $769 split with my partner, A. ($384 each)
Student Loans: $219 (I’m on an income-based repayment plan and I have $21,650 left to go.)
Credit Card Payments: $300, or more if I can swing it. As of October 2017, I had over $9,000 in credit card debt. Now just over a year later, I have over $2,000 left to go at 0% interest. It’s been a tough lesson, but I’ve crushed it and the end is in sight!
Cell Phone: $114 (I’m on my own plan — my partner has a flip phone.)
Utilities: ~$75, split with my partner
Renter’s Insurance: $15
Health Insurance: $37
Therapy: $25 copay per visit
Audible: $14.99
Netflix: $7.99
401(k): 4% of my paycheck with company match
Savings: I have $1,500 in my emergency fund.

Day One

7:45 a.m. — Shit, we both overslept. I nudge A. awake and plod over to the kitchen to get breakfast and lunch packed while he’s in the shower. Breakfast is a pack of instant grits, a hardboiled egg, and a banana. Lunch is pasta fagioli that we meal prepped earlier in the week.

8:15 a.m. — I drop A. off at the local T station. The bus in front of our apartment building recently cut service, so we’re trying out a new routine this morning to park at the station a half mile away. It fails — there are no spots left, so I continue into my office where there’s free parking and A. heads downtown. Overall, I prefer public transport, because my weekly fares are typically less than the cost of gas for A.’s car. It’s paid off, and we take turns paying the gas on it, but I try to do more if I use it more often.

9:45 a.m. — My morning starts chaotically with a lot of phone calls. I prepare the grits, eat the egg, and fix a cup of coffee with hazelnut creamer.

12:45 p.m. — I heat up the pasta fagioli. It’s made with Barilla protein pasta, which keeps me satisfied until dinner usually. I finish off with the banana.

3:56 p.m. — I spent a lot of time on the phone today! I mute my conference call and polish off two clementines.

5:45 p.m. — Heading home! I stop by the grocery store on the way to pick up soy sauce, sesame oil, and parmesan cheese per A.’s request (not all for the same recipe). $13.54

6:15 p.m. — I heat up some leftover chicken, vegetables, and rice, and A. makes a teriyaki sauce. We chat and go about our evening routine — making food and washing dishes.

7:30 p.m. — We watch an episode of The First on Hulu and share some pieces of dark chocolate and red wine. We head to bed around 10.

Daily Total: $13.54

Day Two

7:35 a.m. — Don’t do much better with the alarm this morning. I get tea and breakfast ready. A. is meeting a friend for lunch today, so I take the leftover Indian food from his birthday dinner earlier this week! Yum.

8:15 a.m. — Drop A. off at the T again and we agree to discuss a plan for our commutes next week.

9:15 a.m. — For breakfast I have two pieces of toast from a loaf of bread I keep in the work freezer. I top them off with a single packet of Justin’s Vanilla Almond Butter.

10:30 a.m. — I check my bank account and move $5.73 to my second checking account. Every day I try to check my current balance and round down to the nearest even $5 or $10 increment by moving the difference into my other account. I manage to save $75-$100 each pay period this way, and I make an extra debt payment with that money.

Copyright infringement? Click Here!